Welcome, Everyone!

Welcome, everyone, to my new blog! Ooh, it’s all shiny and new!

Anyway, this blog will continue the legacy of my old blog from Myspace. My thoughts about the future, technology, society, economics, philosophy, critical thinking, science, religion and more subjects like aliens, politics, stuff about the stories I eventually plan to write, and anything else I feel like posting. I will try to get out one blog a day, sometimes more, so keep those electrons flowing (but no positrons, please)!

I’ll let you go with an excerpt from one of my stories. The funniest planet ever named, colonized sometime before the year 2680. Its when the three friends, Michael Wayson, Sasha Ymenez, and Vincent are meeting each other for the first time, the day after landing on the the second planet in the Midira system: Midira c.

Michael: So, I keep wondering,  where did the name “Midira” come from anyway?

Vincent: I don’t know. Francis Williams probably just made it up.

Sasha: There’s an island in the Atlantic called Madeira. Maybe that’s where he’s from.

Vincent: No, Francis Williams was born in Northern Europe. Germany, if I remember.

Sasha: Oh.

Vincent: I wonder what’s the strangest name that has ever been given to a planet.

Michael: I don’t know, but I’m sure the planet Batman would apply.

4 Responses to “Welcome, Everyone!”


  1. 1 FYI November 23, 2008 at 11:28 am

    Hey

    Thought you might want some corrected information:

    The original choices for your name were as follows:

    Steve Zebanya
    Zebanya Ip
    Erik (not Arik) Zebanya
    Zebanya Bonfasheo

    Your father made up the name when he was 15 years old. And you obviously know where your middle name comes from.

  2. 2 Arik Rice November 24, 2008 at 11:08 am

    Oh well, good to know. I still like “Arik Rice” since I like the way it looks. Plus, I’ve been using it in my head for years.

    On a side note, “Eric” is actually an anagram of “Rice”, so if I had used that spelling, it might have been interesting.

  3. 3 Mrs. F. November 24, 2008 at 8:02 pm

    Wow, never thought of that. I think Arik is pretty neat. I also enjoy your writing, concepts, ideas very much. Intelligent and original is hard to find these days!

  4. 4 Mrs. F. November 26, 2008 at 4:51 pm

    Oh nice pic!


Leave a Reply

