Why Do Christians Cry When People Die?

It’s never made much sense to me. I don’t mean to be insensitive, but, you know that you’re going to see them again, at least, assuming you both get into heaven. I suppose if someone dies, but they weren’t a good Christian, and so they’ll probably end up in hell, then I could understand that you’d never see them again. Plus, you’d be upset that someone you love is going to be tortured for eternity.

If I were a Christian, and I had a friend who died, someone who I knew was very likely going to heaven and that I’d follow, I’d probably be happy for him. In fact, I might even be a little jealous. He’s made it, and he no longer has to worry about having enough faith and being a good Christian. But I’d be able to overcome that jealousy by realizing that the little time I have in this world is insignificant compared to the billions of trillions of years I’ll spend in paradise, with the opportunity to see my friend whenever I wish.

Now, being an atheist, and not believing in an afterlife (because the two are not necessary related), it is entirely reasonable for me to be sad. The person I cared about is gone. I will never see them again. Ever.No matter how much I want to, short of building a time machine, I will never be with them again. I’ve known a couple people who were around my age when they died. Not really friends, but acquaintances that I liked.

Well, crazy athiestic rant over. Today is the first day in three months where I have no work or school and absolutely no plans. I get to stay home in my pajamas and write politically-charged blogs all day! No actually I’m working on my game some more. I know I said I was done, but I’m mostly just re-doing the layouts and adding tiny things here and there.

1 Response to “Why Do Christians Cry When People Die?”


  1. 1 Mrs. F. June 12, 2009 at 5:52 am

    I would think it’s the same as losing anyone close to you. They are not in the here and now.


Leave a Reply

